In 1961, a small group of local government solid waste program supervisors in the Los Angeles basin formed the Governmental Refuse Collection and Disposal Association (GRCDA) to provide a means for solid waste professionals to share information and promote training. By 1978, GRCDA had grown to about 900 members in 10 chapters in various western states and parts of Canada, hired its first executive director, and established its first permanent office in Washington, DC. It also recognized its first chapter on the east coast—in Florida.

In 1992, the association changed its name to the Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA) to reflect how the field had broadened to all aspects of municipal solid waste management and to appeal to a more diverse membership. Having grown and expanded its membership of public and private sector solid waste management professionals, SWANA is now the largest member-based solid waste association in the world with 45 chapters in the U.S., Canada and the Caribbean, and more than 8,000 members.

The SWANA Florida Sunshine Chapter was founded in 1978 with 7 members. The Chapter held its very first membership drive and conference in February 1979 at the Apollo Beach Holiday Inn with a technical tour of the then new Apollo Beach Transfer Station, which produced 40 new members. We are now the largest single SWANA chapter, serving more than 500 members statewide.

SWANA’s mission statement is “Advancing the practice of environmentally and economically sound management of municipal solid waste in North America.” This is accomplished by providing professional education and networking opportunities to solid waste professionals at all levels through conferences, webinars, publications, certifications, training courses, and more.

The Florida Sunshine Chapter welcomes your participation, values your experience, and appreciates your insight. Join us and get involved today!

Bylaws & Policies and Procedures


     



Board of Directors

President
Tammy Hayes
(W) 813-281-2900
hayest@cdmsmith.com
CDM Smith

Vice President
Keith Howard
(W) 239-533-8000
khoward@leegov.com
Lee County

Treasurer
Sam Levin
(W) 407-475-9163
Slevin@S2Li.com
S2Li

Secretary 
Monica Bramble
(W) 941-240-8060
mbramble@cityofnorthport.com
City of North Port

Immediate Past President
Mitch Kessler
(W) 813-971-8333
mk@kesconsult.com
Kessler Consulting

                                     
MINUTES FROM PAST BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETINGS:

February 20, 2017 BOD Meeting

July 25, 2016 Chapter Business Meeting

July 24, 2016, BOD Meeting

February 21, 2016 BOD Meeting

August 26, 2015 BOD Meeting

August 26, 2015 Chapter Business Meeting

February 8, 2015 BOD Meeting

Director 17-19
Rebecca Rodriguez
(W) 239-533-8932
rrodriguez2@leegov.com
Lee County Solid Waste

Director 17-19
Jason Timmons
(W) 941-861-1572
jtimmons@scgov.net
Sarasota County

Director 17-19
Michael Gordon 
(W) 727-587-6760
migordon@largo.com 
City of Largo

Director 17-19
Chad Grecsek  
(W) 954- 480-4386
cgrecsek@deerfield-beach.com
City of Deerfield Beach

Director 16-18
Nathan Mayer
(W) 561-758-7130
nmayer@swa.org
Solid Waste Authority of
Palm Beach County

Director 16-18
Allan Cole
(W) 407-836-6635
allan.cole@ocfl.net
Orange County Solid Waste

Director 16-18
Marissa Segundo
(W) 727-278-7909
msegundo@recycle.com
Resource Recycling Systems

Director 16-18
Becky Hiers-Bray
(W) 904-491-7330
bbray@nassaucountyfl.com
Nassau County Engineering Services


Awards Chair

Mitch Kessler
(W) 813-971-8333
mk@kesconsult.com
Kessler Consulting

Scholarship Chair
Karam Singh
(W) 904-598-8930
karamjit.singh@hdrinc.com

Bylaws & Policies Chair 

Keith Howard
(W) 239-533-8000
khoward@leegov.com
Lee County

Nominating Chair
Mitch Kessler
(W) 813-971-8333
mk@kesconsult.com
Kessler Consulting


Communications Chair
Marissa Segundo
(W) 727-278-7909
msegundo@recycle.com
RRS

Newsletter Chair
Angelina Ruiz
(W) 800-358-2873 x7
Angelina@wasteadvantagemag.com
Waste Advantage Magazine

Membership Chair
Matt Locke
(W) 813-247-2267
Matt@TRUCKSandPARTS.com
Trucks & Parts

Road-E-O Chair
Gene Ginn
(W) 863-834-8776
gene.ginn@lakelandgov.net
City of Lakeland



Training Chair
Monica Bramble
(W) 941-240-8060
mbramble@cityofnorthport.com
City of North Port

Health & Safety Chair
Chad Grecsek
(W) 954-480-4386
cgrecsek@deerfield-beach.com
City of Deerfield Beach


Conference Chair
Tammy Hayes
(W) 813-281-2900
hayest@cdmsmith.com
CDM Smith

Young Professionals Chair
Wei Liu
(W) 813-281-2900
LiuWT@cdmsmith.com
CDM Smith

Programs Chair
Jason Timmons
(W) 941-861-1572
jtimmons@scgov.net
Sarasota County

Golf Chair
Ray Rivera
(W) 321-223-7500
ramon@landfillcontractor.com
Diamond Systems, LLC

Exhibits and Sponsors Chair
Open






Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software