info@swanafl.org

About

ABOUT SWANA FL

In 1961, a small group of local government solid waste program supervisors in the Los Angeles basin formed the Governmental Refuse Collection and Disposal Association (GRCDA) to provide a means for solid waste professionals to share information and promote training. By 1978, GRCDA had grown to about 900 members in 10 chapters in various western states and parts of Canada, hired its first executive director, and established its first permanent office in Washington, DC. It also recognized its first chapter on the east coast—in Florida.

In 1992, the association changed its name to the Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA) to reflect how the field had broadened to all aspects of municipal solid waste management and to appeal to a more diverse membership. Having grown and expanded its membership of public and private sector solid waste management professionals, SWANA is now the largest member-based solid waste association in the world with 47 chapters in the U.S., Canada and the Caribbean, and more than 11,000 members.

The SWANA Florida Sunshine Chapter was founded in 1978 with 7 members. The Chapter held its very first membership drive and conference in February 1979 at the Apollo Beach Holiday Inn with a technical tour of the then new Apollo Beach Transfer Station, which produced 40 new members. We are now the largest single SWANA chapter, serving more than 600 members statewide.

The Florida Sunshine Chapter welcomes your participation, values your experience, and appreciates your insight. Join us and get involved today!

2018 SWANA FL Summer Conference Barbara Hetrick, Pinellas County Solid Waste Bret LaBram, Seminole County Solid Waste
2018 SWANA FL Summer Conference Barbara Hetrick, Pinellas County Solid Waste Bret LaBram, Seminole County Solid Waste
2018 SWANA FL Summer Conference Bob Hyres, Waste Pro Joan Hyres Karam Singh, HDR Wei Liu, CDM Smith
2018 SWANA FL Summer Conference Bob Hyres, Waste Pro Joan Hyres Karam Singh, HDR Wei Liu, CDM Smith

Mission Statement

SWANA is an organization of professionals committed to advancing from solid waste management to resource management through their shared emphasis on education, advocacy and research.

Bylaws & Procedures

Standards of Conduct for SWANA Members


Board of Directors

President
Jason Timmons
(W) 941-861-1572
jtimmons@scgov.net
Sarasota County

Vice President
Rebecca Rodriguez
(W) 239-533-8914
rrodriguez2@leegov.com
Lee County Solid Waste

Treasurer
Gene Ginn
(W) 727-587-6760
gene.ginn@lakelandgov.net
City of Lakeland

Secretary
Sarah Gustitus-Graham
(W) 813.379.4407
SGustitusGraham@geosyntec.com
Geosyntec Consultants, Inc.

Immediate Past President
Keith Howard
(W) 941-321-8205 
Keith.Howard@hdrinc.com
HDR

Director 23-25
Dan Cooper
(W) 813-621-0080
DCooper@scsengineers.com
SCS Engineers

Director 23-25
Open

Director 23-25
Monica Hool
(W) (772) 360-3195
hoolmn@cdmsmith.com
CDM Smith

Director 23-25
Thierry Boveri
(W) 407-628-2600
tboveri@prmginc.com
Raftelis

Director 24-26
Shauwn Clark
(W) 727-587-6760
sclark@largo.com
City of Largo

Director 24-26
Mike Fernandez
(C) 754-306-3595
mfernandez@wasteprousa.com
Waste Pro

Director 24-26
Josh Miller
(W) 813-282-2305
Joshua.Miller@hdrinc.com
HDR

Board of Directors Meeting During 2017 SWANA FL Winter Conference Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Board of Directors Meeting During 2017 SWANA FL Winter Conference Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Director 24-26
Tobin McKnight
(W) 352-377-5821
tmcknight@jonesedmunds.com
Jones Edmunds

SWANA Region 5 Director
Dan Cooper
(W) 813-621-0080
DCooper@scsengineers.com
SCS Engineers




Committee Chairs

Audit Chair
Jason Timmons
(W) 941-861-1572
jtimmons@scgov.net
Sarasota County

Awards Chair
Keith Howard
(W) 941-321-8205 
Keith.Howard@hdrinc.com
HDR

Scholarship Chair
Nate Mayer
(W) 561-758-7130
nmayer@swa.org
SWA of Palm Beach County

Bylaws & Policies Chair
Wei Liu
(W) 813-281-2900
LiuWT@cdmsmith.com
CDM Smith

Nominating Chair
Keith Howard
(W) 941-321-8205 
Keith.Howard@hdrinc.com
HDR

Communications Chair
Open

Newsletter Chair
Angelina Ruiz
(W) 800-358-2873 x7
Angelina@wasteadvantagemag.com
Waste Advantage Magazine

Membership Chair
Wei Liu
(W) 813-281-2900
LiuWT@cdmsmith.com
CDM Smith

Road-E-O Chair
Shauwn Clark
(W) 727-587-6760
sclark@largo.com
City of Largo

Legislative Chair
Willie Puz
(W) 561-640-8914
wpuz@swa.org
Solid Waste Authority of Palm Beach County

Conference Chair
Gene Ginn
(W) 727-587-6760
gene.ginn@lakelandgov.net
City of Lakeland

Young Professionals Chairs
Kelly Milbrandt
(W) 813-804-6703
kmilbrandt@scsengineers.com
SCS Engineers

Monica Hool
(W) (772) 360-3195
mhoolmn@cdmsmith.com
CDM Smith

Health & Safety Chairs
South Florida
Eleonel Lorenzo
(W) 954-480-1422
ELorenzo@deerfield-beach.com
City of Deerfield Beach

North Florida
George White
(W) 352-569-0465
George.White@wasteconnections.com
Waste Connections

Central Florida
Earl Gloster
(C) 813-781-2429
earlgloster76@gmail.com

Programs Chairs
Keith Howard
(W) 941-321-8205 
Keith.Howard@hdrinc.com
HDR

Activities Chair
Open

Sponsorship Chair
Gene Ginn
(W) 863-834-8777
gene.ginn@lakelandgov.net
City of Lakeland

Training Chair
Open


Technical Division Chairs

Collection and Transfer
Marc Rogoff
(W) 813-379-4399
MRogoff@geosyntec.com
Geosyntec Consultants

Damien Tramel
(W) 813-663-3211
trameld@hillsboroughcounty.org
Hillsborough County Solid Waste Division

Landfill Management
Rebecca Rodriguez
(W) 239-533-8932
rrodriguez2@leegov.com
Lee County Solid Waste Division

Tobin McKnight
(W) 352-377-5821
tmcknight@jonesedmunds.com
Jones Edmunds


Planning and Management
Thierry Boveri
(W) 407-628-2600
tboveri@prmginc.com
Raftelis

Waste to Energy
Kyle Pinon
(W) 954-393-5944
kpinon@swa.org
SWA of Palm Beach County

Joshua Miller
(W) 813-282-2305
Joshua.Miller@hdrinc.com
HDR

Recycling & Special Waste
Shakeel Balroop
(W) 407-989-6401
Shakeel.Balroop@gmail.com
Consultant

Landfill Gas & Biogas
Dan Cooper
(W) 813-621-0080
DCooper@SCSEngineers.com
SCS Engineers

Stephanie Liptak
(W) 813-621-0080
SLiptak@scsengineers.com
SCS Engineers