info@swanafl.org

About

ABOUT SWANA FL

In 1961, a small group of local government solid waste program supervisors in the Los Angeles basin formed the Governmental Refuse Collection and Disposal Association (GRCDA) to provide a means for solid waste professionals to share information and promote training. By 1978, GRCDA had grown to about 900 members in 10 chapters in various western states and parts of Canada, hired its first executive director, and established its first permanent office in Washington, DC. It also recognized its first chapter on the east coast—in Florida.

In 1992, the association changed its name to the Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA) to reflect how the field had broadened to all aspects of municipal solid waste management and to appeal to a more diverse membership. Having grown and expanded its membership of public and private sector solid waste management professionals, SWANA is now the largest member-based solid waste association in the world with 45 chapters in the U.S., Canada and the Caribbean, and more than 10,000 members.

The SWANA Florida Sunshine Chapter was founded in 1978 with 7 members. The Chapter held its very first membership drive and conference in February 1979 at the Apollo Beach Holiday Inn with a technical tour of the then new Apollo Beach Transfer Station, which produced 40 new members. We are now the largest single SWANA chapter, serving more than 600 members statewide.

The Florida Sunshine Chapter welcomes your participation, values your experience, and appreciates your insight. Join us and get involved today!

2018 SWANA FL Summer Conference Barbara Hetrick, Pinellas County Solid Waste Bret LaBram, Seminole County Solid Waste
2018 SWANA FL Summer Conference Barbara Hetrick, Pinellas County Solid Waste Bret LaBram, Seminole County Solid Waste
2018 SWANA FL Summer Conference Bob Hyres, Waste Pro Joan Hyres Karam Singh, HDR Wei Liu, CDM Smith
2018 SWANA FL Summer Conference Bob Hyres, Waste Pro Joan Hyres Karam Singh, HDR Wei Liu, CDM Smith

Mission Statement

SWANA is an organization of professionals committed to advancing from solid waste management to resource management through their shared emphasis on education, advocacy and research.

Bylaws & Procedures


Board of Directors

President
Keith Howard
(W) 941-321-8205 
Keith.Howard@hdrinc.com
HDR

Vice President
Jason Timmons
(W) 941-861-1572
jtimmons@scgov.net
Sarasota County

Treasurer
Sam Levin
(W) 407-475-9163
Slevin@S2Li.com
S2Li

Secretary
Rebecca Rodriguez
(W) 239-533-8932
rrodriguez2@leegov.com
Lee County Solid Waste

Immediate Past President
Tammy Hayes
(W) 813-281-2900
hayest@cdmsmith.com
CDM Smith

Director 19-21
Todd Kucharski
(W) 941-954-4198
todd.kucharski@sarasotagov.com
City of Sarasota

Director 19-21
Eleonel Lorenzo
(W) 954-480-1422
ELorenzo@deerfield-beach.com
City of Deerfield Beach

Director 19-21
Wei Liu
(W) 813-281-2900
LiuWT@cdmsmith.com
CDM Smith

Director 19-21
Gene Ginn
(W) 727-587-6760
gene.ginn@lakelandgov.net
City of Lakeland

Director 18-20
Nathan Mayer
(W) 561-758-7130
nmayer@swa.org
Solid Waste Authority of
Palm Beach County

Director 18-20
Allan Cole
(W) 407-836-6635
allan.cole@ocfl.net
Orange County Solid Waste

Board of Directors Meeting During 2017 SWANA FL Winter Conference Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Board of Directors Meeting During 2017 SWANA FL Winter Conference Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Director 18-20
Bill Pickrum
(W) 727-298-3215
wpickrum@dunedinfl.net
City of Dunedin

Director 18-20
Becky Hiers-Bray
(W) 904-903-2848
R.Bray@gaiconsultants.com
GAI Consultants




Committee Chairs

Audit Chair
Keith Howard
(W) 941-321-8205 
Keith.Howard@hdrinc.com
HDR

Awards Chair
Tammy Hayes
(W) 813-281-2900
hayest@cdmsmith.com
CDM Smith

Scholarship Chair
Karam Singh
(W) 904-598-8930
karamjit.singh@hdrinc.com

Nate Mayer
(W) 561-758-7130
nmayer@swa.org
SWA of Palm Beach County

Bylaws & Policies Chair
Keith Howard
(W) 941-321-8205
Keith.Howard@hdrinc.com
HDR

Nominating Chair
Mitch Kessler
(W) 813-971-8333
mk@kesconsult.com
Kessler Consulting

Communications Chair
Marissa Segundo
(W) 727-278-7909
msegundo@recycle.com
RRS

Newsletter Chair
Angelina Ruiz
(W) 800-358-2873 x7
Angelina@wasteadvantagemag.com
Waste Advantage Magazine

Membership Chair
Monica Bramble
(W) 941-240-8060
mbramble@cityofnorthport.com
City of North Port

Road-E-O Chair
Gene Ginn
(W) 863-834-8776
gene.ginn@lakelandgov.net
City of Lakeland

Legislative Chairs
Reginald Ofuani
(W) 850-891-5450
reginald.ofuani@talgov.com
City of Tallahassee

Ray Rivera
(W) 321-223-7500
ramon@landfillcontractor.com
Diamond Systems

Conference Chair
Tammy Hayes
(W) 813-281-2900
hayest@cdmsmith.com
CDM Smith

Young Professionals Chair
Wei Liu
(W) 813-281-2900
LiuWT@cdmsmith.com
CDM Smith

Health & Safety Chairs

South Florida
Eleonel Lorenzo
(W) 954-480-1422
ELorenzo@deerfield-beach.com
City of Deerfield Beach

North Florida
George White
(W) 352-438-2300
george.white@marioncountyfl.org
Marion County BOCC

Central Florida
Earl Gloster
(W) 727-562-4990
earl.gloster@myclearwater.com
City of Clearwater

Programs Chair
Rebecca Rodriguez
(W) 239-533-8932
rrodriguez2@leegov.com
Lee County Solid Waste

Golf Chair
Open

Exhibits and Sponsors Chairs
Michael Gordon
(W) 727-587-6760
migordon@largo.com 
City of Largo

Bill Pickrum
(W) 727-298-3215
wpickrum@dunedinfl.net
City of Dunedin

Training Chair
Open


Technical Division Chairs

Collection and Transfer
Marc Rogoff
(W) 813-379-4399
MRogoff@geosyntec.com
Geosyntec Consultants

Michael Gordon
(W) 727-587-6760
migordon@largo.com
City of Largo

Waste to Energy
Jason Gorrie
(W) 813-605-0706
Jason@jmg-eng.com
JMG Engineering

Landfill Management
Rebecca Rodriguez
(W) 239-533-8932
rrodriguez2@leegov.com
Lee County Solid Waste Division

Tobin McKnight
(W) 352-377-5821
tmcknight@jonesedmunds.com
Jones Edmunds

Landfill Gas & Biogas
Dan Cooper
(W) 813-621-0080
DCooper@SCSEngineers.com
SCS Engineers

Planning and Management
Euripides Rodriguez
(W) 321-633-2042
Euripides.rodriguez@brevardcounty.us
Brevard County

Thierry Boveri
(W) 407-628-2600
tboveri@prmginc.com
PRMG

Recycling & Special Waste
Frank Lama
(W) 941-240-8050
flama@cityofnorthport.com
City of North Port

Brian Usher
(W) 941-650-8078
busher@scgov.net
Sarasota County