SWANA Announces 2023 Technical Division Award Winners

SWANA Announces 2023 Technical Division Award Winners

Awards ceremony will take place in-person at SOAR in Atlanta, Georgia on Tuesday, April 18 at 9:00 am ET as part of the SOAR Opening Keynote and Award Presentations

The Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA) is proud to announce the 2023 Technical Divisions Award winners.

Communication, Education and Marketing Technical Division Awards

Christina Polsgrove – Distinguished Individual Achievement Award
Orange County, Florida – Outstanding Awareness Campaign
Outagamie County Recycling and Solid Waste – Outstanding Social Media Campaign
Recycling Partnership – Game Changing Tools

Collection and Transfer Technical Division Award

Don Birnesser – Distinguished Individual Achievement Award

Landfill Gas and Biogas Technical Division Award

Dennis Bollinger – Hall of Flame Award
Ramon Rivera – Hall of Flame Award

Sustainable Materials Management

Tim Raibley – Distinguished Individual Achievement Award
Maryland Environmental Service and Partners – Sustainable Materials Management Organization Award
Muscatine Organic Recycling Center – Sustainable Materials Management Organization Award Honorable Mention
Waste Conversion and Energy Recovery

H-POWER – Facility Excellence Award

SWANA’s award program recognizes outstanding solid waste programs, facilities and individuals that advance the practice of exemplary solid waste management.

The annual Distinguished Individual Achievement Award (DIAA) recognizes efforts on behalf of individual SWANA members for service to the Technical Division, and support of SWANA’s mission to advance the practice of MSW management and overall long-term service to the solid waste management industry.

The Hall of Flame Award originated to formally acknowledge and recognize those who have made a significant contribution to the landfill gas industry. In place of the tangible award and formal induction that accompany the Distinguished Individual Achievement Award, induction into the Hall of Flame is done through a formal announcement of a selected group of inductees and includes providing a signed certificate of achievement for each inductee.

SWANA’s Sustainable Materials Management Technical Division’s Sustainable Materials Management Organization Award is given to one organization each year that is advancing the sustainable use of materials throughout their lifecycle to minimize waste and environmental impacts.

The Waste Conversion and Energy Recovery (WCER) Facility Excellence Award recognizes excellence in projects that produce renewable energy from solid waste, whether through direct combustion or other methods.

The Communication Education, and Marketing (CEM) Outstanding Awareness Campaign, Outstanding Social Media Campaign, and Game Changing Tools awards are given to companies who have create and crafted remarkable impact, innovative work, and impressive outcomes using awareness campaigns, social media, and innovative programs that result in impactful industry solutions.

For more information, visit